Holdfast Chronicles by Suzy McKee Charnas – Dystopian Books Review

The Girl Who Owned A City by O. T. Nelson – Dystopian Books Review
February 29, 2020
Out of all the things about me that could frighten you, you worry about my driving.
Stephenie Meyer Dystopian Author Quotes#1
February 29, 2020

Review, Synopsis, and Summary of Science Fiction Book Holdfast Chronicles

Suzy McKee Charnas is an American feminist and science fiction author. She published the Holdfast Chronicles in the form of a series of four books. These books include Walk to the End of the World, published in 1974; Motherlines, published in 1978; The Furies published in 1994; Slave and The Free as well as the Conqueror’s Child published in 1999.

This post contains some affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, I’ll earn a commission, at no additional cost to you.

Author:  Suzy McKee Charnas

Genre: Science Fiction

Pages: 214

Good reads rating: 3.58 of 5

My Ratings: 7 of 10

Published: 1974 to 1999

Publisher: Del Rey

Language: English

For The Latest Price: Holdfast Chronicles

Review and Summary of the Science Fiction Novel Holdfast Chronicles

***Warning Spoilers Below This Point***

In the first part of the series, Walk to the end of the World, it introduces us to the people of Holdfast and the fems, which transform into degenerated creatures. Humans have treated fems always with dislike. Because humans want to survive and reconquer the world, they need a common enemy. They claim that the destruction of the world happened because of fems, who became their ideal victim. Over the centuries, the truth gets decayed and lost.

In the second part, Motherlines Alldera tries to escape Holdfast while risking her life. She did not like the society based on ruling the fems. She follows a whisper which is a legend to fems who live freely with no masters. When she leaves Holdfast, she discovers the Motherline tribes. These tribes comprise proud riding women who can breed without men. Alldera becomes a slave of this tribe.

In the third part of the series, The Furies, Alldera is a slave with all other women. Alldera escapes slavery and leads an army to the mountains to end this oppression and help all the slaves escape.

The conqueror’s child, the fourth book in the series, focuses on the adventures of Alldera’s daughter, Sorrel. She joins her mother and also brings an adopted young boy. This book offers an amazing history of life, love, and war between women and men.

Final Say on The Science Fiction Series Holdfast Chronicles

The author bases this series of books over 25 years. From 1974 to 1999, Suzy McKee Charnas published four books in the Holdfast Chronicles. It receives my ratings of 7 out of 10 due to its exceptional storyline. Would I re-read this novel? No. Am I glad I read it? Yes.

For The Latest Price: Holdfast Chronicles

Latest posts by Max Atlas (see all)
Submit your review

Create your own review

Dystopian Books
Average rating:  
 0 reviews
Max Atlas
Max Atlas
I am Max Atlas; my only mission is to raise awareness of Dystopian fiction and share in a collective awakening. Together we will explore not only the best Dystopian Novels ever written but also new and upcoming Authors, giving future greats a platform to share their Dystopian Worlds.