Malorie Blackman
January 21, 2020
Margaret Peterson Haddix
January 21, 2020

Margaret Eleanor Atwood (1939) received popularity as a Canadian teacher, critic and book writer. Atwood also passionately practised her role as an environmental activist. She published a series of poetry books, novels, children’s and fiction stories. Some awards she won included the Arthur C. Clarke Award, Booker Prize, Governor General’s Award, and the Franz Kafka Prize. Various of her novels turned into film and television scripts. Atwood only attended school at 12 and enjoyed reading a range of literature, for example, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, animal stories and many comic books.

She attended the Leaside High School in Toronto and started her studies at Victoria College at the University of Toronto. She completed her degree in Bachelor of Arts majoring in English. After the success of her Oryx and Crake (2003) novel, she wrote MaddAddam (2013) and The Year of the Flood (2009). Atwood also published the Handmaid’s Tale in 1985 and Up In The Tree (1978) a children’s book.

Latest posts by Max Atlas (see all)
Submit your review

Create your own review

Dystopian Books
Average rating:  
 0 reviews
Max Atlas
Max Atlas
I am Max Atlas; my only mission is to raise awareness of Dystopian fiction and share in a collective awakening. Together we will explore not only the best Dystopian Novels ever written but also new and upcoming Authors, giving future greats a platform to share their Dystopian Worlds.