Susan Beth Pfeffer
January 21, 2020
Suzy McKee Charnas
January 21, 2020

Suzanne Collins (1962) received popularity as an American book and scriptwriter. She received recognition for The Hunger Games Trilogy and The Underland Chronicles. Collins received her degree from the Alabama School of Fine Arts in Birmingham in 1980 and majored in Theatre Arts. Besides, she completed her B.A. degree at Indiana University Bloomington in 1985. She majored in telecommunication and theatre subjects. Collins completed her Masters of Fine Arts at Tisch School of Arts, New York University. She initially took part in children television shows. For example, Oswald, Little Bear and The Mystery Files of Shelby Woo starting in 1991.

In 2008, Scholastic Press published The Hunger Games motivated by her interest in the Greek Myth named Theseus and the Minotaur. She explained her father’s airforce career provided her with an insight into the challenges of war and motivated her interest to write. Collins received a series of awards, for example, the 2008 Kirkus Best Young Adult Book, 2008 Book List Editors Choice, NY Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing and many more. Other books she published include When Charlie McButton Lost Power (2005) and Year of the Jungle (2013).

Latest posts by Max Atlas (see all)
Submit your review

Create your own review

Dystopian Books
Average rating:  
 0 reviews
Max Atlas
Max Atlas
I am Max Atlas; my only mission is to raise awareness of Dystopian fiction and share in a collective awakening. Together we will explore not only the best Dystopian Novels ever written but also new and upcoming Authors, giving future greats a platform to share their Dystopian Worlds.