Thomas M. Disch
January 21, 2020
Ursula K. Le Guin
January 21, 2020

Thomas Ruggles Pynchon Jr. (1937) received popularity as an American book writer. He received recognition for his complex books based on non-fiction and fiction genres. He enjoyed incorporating music, science, history and mathematics in his books. Pynchon received the US. National Book Award for Fiction in 1973. Some of his popular books include Gravity’s Rainbow (1973), The Crying of Lot 49 (1966) and Inherent Vice (2009). He also published a novel named Bleeding Edge (2013). Pynchon finished high school in 1953 and studied engineering with a focus on physics at Cornell University. He left during his second year to join the U.S. Navy. During 1957 he returned but started with a degree in English.

The Cornell Writer published his first story named The Small Rain in 1959. During 1964, he applied to the University of California, Berkeley, to study maths but denied by the institution. Pynchon wrote a report on the legacy of the Watts Riots in Los Angeles in 1966. The report received the tile, A Journey Into the Mind of Watts, and became published in The New York Times Magazine. During 1984, a short story collection became published and presents some of Pynchon’s early narratives and included the first-person introduction as well.

Latest posts by Max Atlas (see all)
Submit your review

Create your own review

Dystopian Books
Average rating:  
 0 reviews
Max Atlas
Max Atlas
I am Max Atlas; my only mission is to raise awareness of Dystopian fiction and share in a collective awakening. Together we will explore not only the best Dystopian Novels ever written but also new and upcoming Authors, giving future greats a platform to share their Dystopian Worlds.